Four stages for learning any new skill

Back in the 1970s Noel Burch formulated a theory called the Four Stages for Learning Any New Skill, where there are basically four steps to acquiring a new skill.
These are the four stages:

1. Unconscious incompetence
2. Conscious incompetence
3. Conscious competence
4. Unconscious competence

Being at #1 sucks. You suck at that level and worst, you don’t know why. You don’t know what you don’t know.
Being at #2 sucks, too. But at this level there’s hope. You get the full picture. You don’t understand it yet, but at least you know where pieces hold together. And that’s a huge step.
Conscious competence is great. You’ve accomplished the incompetence barrier.
And when you are unconscious competence you’re a pro. You’d do it with your eyes closed.
It’s easy to get frustrated and quit at level one. A lot of people quit at #1, other quit at #2. However, once you pass that threshold between incompetence and competence, there’s a huge payoff at the end.
Are you learning anything new and scary? Identify in which stage you’re right now. Then acknowledging it will help you (and motivate) to go to the end.